Holiday Streaming Preview

With the holidays right around the corner, it’s only right to ask the big questions, like “When is The Witcher coming back, exactly?” and “Will I be able to watch the triumphant return of Keanu Reeves to The Matrix from the comfort of my home?” Well, dear reader, I’m going to do my best to share some streaming highlights premiering in the next couple of months. Hopefully, these selections will be able to keep you warm and entertained on the coldest of nights, or at least help you end the year on an entertaining note!

Netflix


The Power of the Dog, December 1, 2021

Jane Campion’s adaptation of Thomas Savage’s novel of the same name has been generating a lot of buzz since its premiere at the Venice International Film Festival back in September. The story of two brothers on a ranch, the kind George Burbank and his cruel brother Phil (Jesse Plemons and Benedict Cumberbatch respectively). Their lives take a turn when George brings his new wife (Kirsten Dunst) to the ranch, and Phil’s cold demeanor faces a new possibility: love. There’s already awards buzz for the whole cast—Cumberbatch in particular—and who doesn’t love a Western where love might be the greatest lesson of all?


The Witcher Season 2, December 17, 2021

It may feel like centuries have passed since The Witcher’s first season graced our screens in late December of last year, but the time has finally come for season 2. I think I speak for all of us when I say we’re all in desperate need of Henry Cavill as Geralt, and the monsters and intrigue promised in this new trailer are a great plus to it all! Getting lost in the world of the Continent sounds like a perfect dose of escapism, whether you need a pause from the holiday festivities or just want to pass the time with your hot drink of choice.

HBO Max


The Matrix Resurrections, December 22, 2021

There is no doubt that Keanu Reeves is always a welcome sight during uncertain times. So when the trailer dropped for the latest installment in the Matrix franchise, it simply felt right. In a time when sequels and reboots are a dime a dozen, The Matrix Resurrections looks like a promising shake-up for the series. We can’t wait to sink into our couches and plug back into the dystopia we all know and love.


And Just Like That…, December 2021

Sex and the City was an unexpected addition to my peak-quarantine watchlist, but one that I will never regret. Sure portions of the show have aged super poorly (and Sarah Jessica Parker’s Carrie can be exhausting to watch, bordering on villainous), but its writing and power-star turns from Cynthia Nixon as Miranda and Kim Cattrall as Samantha made it an undeniable classic. While Kim Cattrall will be missing from this return, it still feels like And Just Like That… has the potential to feel like SATC at its best: a reunion with old friends and an opportunity to bring Carrie and the girls into a new world with some better sense.

Disney+


Encanto, November 24, 2021

The story of The Madrigals, a family living in a magical house in the mountains of Colombia, looks absolutely delightful. Full of color and vibrant animation, the movie follows the journey of Mirabel, the one member of the Madrigal family without magical powers. She is tasked with saving their home when it begins to fall apart and the magic threatens to leave their lives forever. With music from Lin-Manuel Miranda, Encanto feels perfect for a post-holiday dinner watch with the whole family.


The Book of Boba Fett, December 2021


If The Mandalorian was Star Wars’ take on the spaghetti western, then it looks like The Book of Boba Fett might just be the franchise’s go at what a crime thriller could look like in a galaxy far, far away. Following the adventures of the titular Boba Fett as he takes over former boss Jabba the Hutt’s position as a crime lord, the trailer for the series is promising a lot: the return of the spectacular Ming-Na Wen as Fennec Shand, wheeling and dealing with alien gangsters, and some intense looking action sequences to boot. This spinoff looks like the perfect way to whet your Star Wars whistle over the holidays.

Hulu

The Curse of Von Dutch, November 18, 2021

You’d be forgiven if the name of this series brought up pirate ships emerging from the deepest depths, or an irate European ghost. However, what this true-crime docuseries focuses on is the sordid saga of the Von Dutch clothing company. If you came of age in the early aughts, the name might have just plunged you into a nostalgia spiral (my bad!). But for the uninitiated, Von Dutch was a clothing company that blew up when celebrities like Ashton Kutcher were seen wearing their trucker hats out and about. Soon enough it became a symbol of kitschy-cool fashion. It seems that underneath this iconic fashion brand are layers of intrigue, conflict, and even murder. This would be best paired with any spiked holiday drink of your choice.


Mother/Android, December 17, 2021

This sci-fi action thriller stars Chloë Grace Moretz and Algee Smith as a couple searching for solace in the middle of an all-out war against AI. Georgia and Sam (Moretz and Smith respectively) need to face No Man’s Land before finding a safe place for Georgia to give birth. While there is no trailer available as of this writing, the stills for the film look like a gripping and tense affair.


Whatever you decide the right vibe is for your holiday watches, I hope this selection of shows and movies can help you ground yourself in the oceans of content swirling around us. Here’s to the cozy nights ahead, and the people and stories we’ll share them with.

Alejandra Martinez

Alejandra Martinez

Alejandra Martinez is a Tejana archivist, writer, and scholar. When she's not thinking about preservation and access, you can find her reading a good book, watching a David Lynch film, or writing about pop-culture at your local coffee shop.
#rando

Afternoon Snack

Hi friends, welcome to Afternoon Snack! This week we bring you unionized games, strange SIMS things, and the dream of kickflipping your way through Hell.

Read More »
POMEgranate Magazine